Revision of tenses

Supply the correct form of the verbs.

1 – She _______________________ (to go) to the office every day.

2 –  We _______________________ (to go) to the theatre last night.

3 – My mother __________________ (to come) to stay with us next weekend.

4 – I _______________________ (to know) the family for a very long time.

5 – Where _______________________ (you / to go) for a holiday last year?

6 – I’m hungry and I _______________________ (to make) some sandwiches.

7 – What a lovely day! The sun _______________________ (to shine) and the sky _____________________ (to be) blue.

8 – Some people _______________________ (never / to see) the sea before.

9 – We _______________________ (not / to live) in England for the last two years.

10 – I never forgot what you _______________________ (to tell) me.

11 – He _______________________ (to walk) very quickly when I _______________________ (to see) him yesterday.

12 – When I _______________________ (to meet) them in the street, they _______________________ (to go) to the cinema.

13 – She _______________________ (just / to come) and _______________________ (to see) you in five minutes.

14 – Mother _______________________ (just / to go) to the market; John _______________________ (to see) her a minute ago in the main road as he _______________________ (to come) home from school.

15 – Can you make less noise? I _______________________ (to try) to concentrate.

16 – I _______________________ (to telephone) as soon as they arrive.

17 – A new block of flats _______________________ (now / to build) in front of the hospital.

18 – Mr. Morgan is the tallest man I _______________________ (ever / to see).

19 – “How long _______________________ (you / to live) here?” ” I _______________________ (to live) here all my life.”

20 – He _______________________ (to feel) ill yesterday, so I _______________________ (to tell) him to go to the doctor.

21 – He was very disappointed. He _______________________ (to try) to pass the exam for ages.

22 – She _______________________ (to live) in France for three years when she decided to come back to England.

23 – I _______________________ (to buy) a motor bike when I am sixteen.

24 – “What’s the matter? Why _______________________ (you / to cry)?” “Because I _______________________ (to / lose) my purse.”

25 – _______________________ (you / to tell) me as soon as the luggage arrives?

26 – Just as Charles _______________________ (to leave) the office, he noticed a strange man in the corridor.

27 – I _______________________ (not / to leave) Paris since we _______________________  (to visit) you three years ago.

28 – He _______________________  (to know) her for a long time before he finally _______________________ (to get) married to her.

29 – Helen _______________________ (just / to find) a new flat. She _______________________ (to move) in tomorrow.

30 – Henry interviewed hundreds of girls but he _______________________ (not / to choose) a new secretary yet.

31 – I hope I _______________________ (to be able) to find a job when I leave school.

32 – Just as I _______________________ (to get) on the bus I realized that I _______________________ (to forget) my diccionary.

33 – Since when _______________________ (you / to have) that new car?

34 – Bob will go to the University after he _______________________ (to finish) military service.

35 – Now that you _______________________ (to win) the pools, what are you going to do?

36 – He wanted to know what you _______________________ (to do) last week.

37 – The moment she _______________________ (to wait) for had come.

38 – He wondered why he _______________________ (to choose) that job, which _______________________ (not / to seem) so rewarding as he _______________________ (to think).

39 – It was clear that Autumn _______________________ (to come) at last.

40 – They _______________________ (to live) near Fred’s office since he _______________________  (to get) a new iphone.

Solutions:

1 – She goes to the office every day.

2 –  We went to the theatre last night.

3 – My mother is coming to stay with us next weekend.

4 – I have known the family for a very long time.

5 – Where did you go for a holiday last year?

6 – I’m hungry and I am going to make some sandwiches.

7 – What a lovely day! The sun is shining and the sky is blue.

8 – Some people have never seen the sea before.

9 – We have not lived in England for the last two years.

10 – I never forgot what you have told me.

11 – He was walking very quickly when I saw him yesterday.

12 – When I met them in the street, they were going to the cinema.

13 – She has just come and will see you in five minutes.

14 – Mother has just gone to the market; John saw her a minute ago in the main road as he was coming home from school.

15 – Can you make less noise? I am trying to concentrate.

16 – I will telephone as soon as they arrive.

17 – A new block of flats is now being built in front of the hospital.

18 – Mr. Morgan is the tallest man I have ever seen.

19 – “How long have you been living here?” ” I have lived here all my life.”

20 – He felt ill yesterday, so I told him to go to the doctor.

21 – He was very disappointed. He had been trying to pass the exam for ages.

22 – She had been living in France for three years when she decided to come back to England.

23 – I will buy a motor bike when I am sixteen.

24 – “What’s the matter? Why are you crying?” “Because I have lost my purse.”

25 – Will you tell me as soon as the luggage arrives?

26 – Just as Charles was leaving the office, he noticed a strange man in the corridor.

27 – I haven’t left Paris since we visited you three years ago.

28 – He had known her for a long time before he finally got married to her.

29 – Helen has just found a new flat. She is moving in tomorrow.

30 – Henry interviewed hundreds of girls but he hasn’t chosen a new secretary yet.

31 – I hope I will be able to find a job when I leave school.

32 – Just as I got on the bus I realized that I had forgetten my diccionary.

33 – Since when have you had that new car?

34 – Bob will go to the University after he has finished military service.

35 – Now that you have won the pools, what are you going to do?

36 – He wanted to know what you had done last week.

37 – The moment she had been waiting for had come.

38 – He wondered why he had chosen that job, which didn’t seem so rewarding as he had thought.

39 – It was clear that Autumn had come at last.

40 – They had been living near Fred’s office since he got a new iphone.

 

Leave a Reply

